DO/mapaDO_riasbaixas.jpgD.O. RIAS BAIXAS


The history of the Denomination of Origin "Rías Baixas" began in 1980. The Regulation of Specific Albariño Denomination and their Consejo Regulador (Regulatory Council) was approved four years later on April 30, 1984.

The Denomination of Origin “Rías Baixas” was first recognized in 1988.

In their short history, between 1987 and 2001, they grew up from 492 to 5,059 farmers, from 14 to 161 wineries and from an area of 237 to 2,408 hectares of vineyards.

In 1988 the D.O. Rías Baixas had 3 perfectly separated subzones in the region of Pontevedra: Val do Salnés, Condado do Tea and O Rosal. In October of 1996, Soutomaior was added and in May of 2000, the Ribeira do Ulla.

The Denomination of Origin is located around a group of areas from Galicia with the same physical conditions that identify and create the characteristics of its wines.

They are located in lowlands, with a normal altitude less than 300 meters, close to the sea and are together in the low parts of the rivers. The climatic characteristics of the Atlantic Ocean influences weather by producing mild tempertatures and a lot of rainfall throughout the region but with less rainfall during the summer.

D.O Established: 1988